Crimson Peak (Review)

Hey Guys,

On Wednesday 18th my media class and I were lucky enough to be taken to Wisbech’s cinema ‘The Luxe’. The reason we were going there is to watch Guillmero Del Toro’s newest Gothic romance Crimson Peak. I will try to keep this review as spoiler free as possible but do be aware there may be a few spoilers.

Of course the main thing I knew about this film is that Tom Hiddleston was starring in this film, and that was really my main driving reason for going… of course us being able to go for free was another driving factor.

But onto the film itself. Crimson Peak, as I’ve already said, is a Gothic romance starring Tom Hiddleston, Mia Wasikowska and Jessica Chastain. The main characters are Edith Cushing and Thomas and Lucille Sharpe (brother and sister) and Edith falls head over heels for Thomas Sharpe (to be honest who wouldn’t) but when her father finds out some interesting things about the Sharpe’s pasts the siblings go back to England but not before Thomas proposes his love for Edith and they get married.

0a7edb45e82acc876c437b64cab6911ee895febc
Don’t they make the perfect couple… nawww

I have to say I didn’t think much about the actual symbolism that took place in the film until after I did my assignment on it but looking back I now realise how filled with symbolism it was.  For example, butterflies are a metaphor for Edith as they are fragile and innocent and moths are a metaphor for Lucille as they ‘eat’ butterflies – or that is at least what Lucille tells Edith.

Personally I enjoyed this film but I felt like the ghosts were something that were possibly not needed and were just an added extra therefore making the film a Gothic romance and not a Gothic horror. Twice I was scared in the film, once with the hand at the start and the second and last time was the noises one ghost was making as she rose from the ground… they may or may not have had me laughing so much I almost cried.

Anyway I would recommend seeing this film if you are a fan of Tom Hiddleston or are new to watching Horrors. I normally dislike watching any kind of Horror film but I did really enjoy this film even with the addition of ghosts.

IMG_20151127_183902.jpg
Incredibly comfortable seats… like sofas!

Thanks for reading,

I’ll see you in the next post, take care 🙂

Leave a Reply

