10 of the things I love most in my life

Hey guys,

This is a list of the ten things that I love most in my life, from material goods to animals or friends. These are in no particular order, only in the order of which they came to mind.

#1 My dogs. But most of all Roscoe, who even though I get angry at him, shout at him and call him names when he really annoys me, still manages to wag his tail every time he sees me in the same way a blind man would smile at the sun upon seeing it for the first time. That dog has managed to teach me so much about happiness. So have all of my dogs, you see they manage to get excited over the most simple things in life such as a ride in the car or a cuddle while I’m watching TV. If humans were more like dogs, then the world would be a far better place.  

#2 Internet. That’s right like any teenager these days I am in love with the internet. But I am in love with it because without it I really don’t know what I’d be doing with myself. I spend over 12 hours a day at the moment sat at my desk, browsing the internet, watching videos on youtube or listening to music. Literally I’d be lost without it if it were to get taken away right now. The internet is both a brilliant place and one to be wary of. It’s like a medical drug, good but in heavy doses it can be deadly. People so often change themselves on the internet to appear like better people and we often fall in love with people’s internet selves over their actual selves. The internet is not all bad though, as I said it is an amazing place where we can be speaking to people hours away from us and it is as if we are having a conversation with no lag time whatsoever, we can share our lives with the whole world and can find out interesting and new things by just typing it into a search engine. 

#3 Music. Just like with my internet, I am mostly listening to music at any point in the day. I don’t think there is ever a day that goes by where I don’t listened to music and I’m glad for it! Music is such a great medium, it’s absolutely brilliant, thoughts can be conveyed, catchy tunes can be put out there and in all honesty music can change a generation. Every year we have a new song that all the teens are loving (I’m always despising that new song but whatever) and it’s both scary and amazing to see how much music can affect people. 

#4 Television. With this one I don’t specifically mean my TV but more of the fact that I can watch television shows on both my TV and my PC. Television is something I don’t consider as a thing I watch very often, I mean I don’t watch the news, I don’t watch the music channels and I don’t watch the film channels. But when it comes down to it I do watch more TV than I thought I did. I watch a lot of it on my PC so I never really counted it as TV but when I sit down and think about it I devote a lot of my time to watching TV. I’ve spent 50 hours watching Game of Thrones, 54 hours watching Once Upon a Time, 47 hours watching The Walking Dead, 18 hours of Hannibal and 22 hours watching Gotham. 191 hours in total. That’s a lot of time and I haven’t included re-watching them or some of the other shows I watch. Also there are so many more shows I want to start watching and I can’t wait to start watching them, television is definitely an amazing thing that I love more and more every year. 

#5 My bed. My place of solitude… My favourite part of the day is when I get to jump into bed whenever I feel tired enough to sleep and then I get to lay down, stare out the window at the sky and think while I listen to music. That right there is my real bliss. I can’t sleep with my glasses on so the night to me has always been blurry and to be honest it feels so peaceful that way. I can’t see much in the dark without my glasses but I can see the brightest things and that is why I love it so because the brightest things are often the most beautiful. For when I lay in bed at night I can just stare at nothing in particular and think for an hour or so with the only intention of falling asleep at the end of my thinking session. That is why I love my bed, for it is my place of peace. 

#6 Books. I’ve found that as I get older I generally don’t read as much any more as I used to, I just don’t or can’t make time for reading any more and I notice that these days I can’t focus when I do find time to read. My mind is always thinking about several other things and I often find myself re-reading the same section multiple times.  But when I do sit down and properly lose myself in a book, it’s the best feeling in the world. I say I’ll sit down for 10 minutes and read a few pages and before I know it I’m 20 pages from the end and several hours have passed me by. Also I love hard copies of books, though I do love my electronic copies I have to say there is nothing better than reading a book and feeling the paper as you turn a page. 

#7 Friends. Here we go again, someone moaning on about how there friends are the best part of their life and how they couldn’t live without them. That’s not true in any way. They are by far not the best part of my life and I could live without them… but that doesn’t mean I want to. I love my friends, every single one of them. They all have qualities that make me love spending time with them. And to any of my friends reading this, I know I’m an ass and I don’t reply or I ignore you but that’s just because I don’t know what to say but I’ll get there eventually I promise. The amount of laughs I’ve had with the guys is an astronomical number, I wouldn’t give up any of the time I’ve spent with them at all. They are all great people. And to Jess, should she ever read this. You are my best female friend and I am going to really miss walking with you in the mornings, it really won’t be the same without you and I’m definitely going to miss your 11 pm phone calls where we both whisper because our parents are asleep. I don’t think I tell you enough, but I do mean it when I say I love you. 

#8 Video Games. One of my many weaknesses in life. I used to play video games all the time but quickly they began to bore me. I wasn’t playing video games because I enjoyed them, I was playing video games to fit in with the guys and to please them. Well I have said more recently that I refuse to do things just to please other people and this is one of those things and to be honest playing video games when I want to and because I want to is better than playing them all the time and just to fit in with others. I have found myself more recently looking into more obscure games, games that are aesthetically pleasing or cause me to stop and think or have lines in them that are pure brilliance. Though I love video games I have to say that music just takes the edge. But still, video games tell a story better than any song ever could. 

#9 Tumblr. Ah my most fickle of friends, Tumblr. I spend a large amount of my day just endlessly scrolling down Tumblr laughing at dumb videos, drooling over photos and contemplating everything I know because of a text post I read. Tumblr has taught me so much in my 2 years of being there and I never thought I would grow so much because of that website. I’m much more open minded than I used to be, I stand up for what I believe to be right and what I know to be right and I’ve posted things I never thought I would ever post. To be honest without Tumblr I don’t think I would have ever started a blog, it would have scared me so much to think that people could read the words I write and possibly respond to them in a distasteful way. In some respect that hasn’t changed, sometimes I do get worried that people will write something ‘mean’ about what I say but I most often try to see my blog as a large diary and all I’m doing is putting down my thoughts and feelings and sometimes people drift along and end up reading a few of them. Tumblr has been one of the most helpful websites I have ever been apart of and has definitely showed me things that I would never expect to watch, like or enjoy.  

#10 Mr Beans. Now though I do love the very funny character Mr Bean who is played by the brilliant Rowan Atkinson, that is not exactly what I mean. You see when I was around a year old my parents took me to Mexico on holiday, and with me I took a small teddy bear that was yet to have a name. As my parents told me we were in a store and this friendly Mexican man was talking to my parents and he saw my bear and asked about it, my parents then tried to explain to him how the bear had beans in the bottom of it’s feet (the small ball type things) but he couldn’t grasp the concept and thought that they were trying to say his name was Beans. He then said (which my dad still imitates in a terrible Mexican accent) “He is Mr Beans?”. And that was how my favourite teddy bear got his name, from a slightly confused but still friendly Mexican man. Mr Beans is the oldest thing in my room now that I’ve had him 15 years and I plan to have him until I die, he’s rather a cute little bugger and has survived many trips around the house in a dog’s salivary mouth. Go on Mr Beans keep battling on! 

This has actually turned out to be my biggest post to date… wow! I didn’t think I’d write this much but oh well, if you’ve made it to the end then thank you ever so much for reading all of this. It was rather a ramble wasn’t it? Oh well!

Thank you for reading,

I’ll see you in the next post, take care 🙂

2015-07-18 18.43.56 HDR
Mr Beans!
Leave a Reply

