Not really sure what to write

I promised a month or more ago that I’d write reviews on two films I saw. I promise they have been written. I guess I lied about the date they’d come out on but that was because a lot has happened since then and now. Asa died the week I went to see these films, one of my dogs Dexter fell ill and was rushed to the vets 3 weeks ago and on the Tuesday we got a phone call to tell us he had passed away that morning. I was taken out of school that day so we could say goodbye and I can honestly say that in my whole 15 years, 2 months and 6 days on this earth I have never cried half as much as I have in this past month at any point in my life. Losing Dexter was the worse pain I have felt, worse than breaking my toe, my parents splitting up and losing one of our cockatiels. For 8 and a half years that boy was my rock and without him I really don’t know what I’m doing. Now my feet are taking me somewhere and I don’t care where any more; I am stuck on auto-pilot. It hurts to think that I will no longer feel him patting my legs for food, scratching at my door every morning, bouncing on my bed to wake me up for school, jumping on my chair when I’m home from school, talking to me when I don’t pay attention to him and most of all I will just miss the feeling of him next to me in a thunder storm or when I am sat on the sofa.
Dexter was more than a dog, he was my best friend. And I can’t see my life without him in it. So to anyone who has a pet, however small or big, if they mean something to you make sure they know it. Everyday. No matter how much they may annoy you or anger you sometimes, remember that one day you will be without them so make sure you are not left with ‘I wish’. Because I wish I could tell Dexter what a good boy he was, and how he will stay in my memory for all of eternity.
Maybe this is a lighter subject but this time last week we bought a new life into our home. A 9 week old puppy who is now named Roscoe. Ross for short. He lies asleep on my bed behind me and he is no Dexter. But he is a little trouble maker. My feet are constantly being bitten, my shirt collars hung onto and my bed is covered in toys. He is a little ray of light that is filling the paws of the sun. It is sad to think that he will never know the most charming character I have ever had the grace to know but I know that if Dexter could look down right now and see us; he be glad his toy basket was being put to good use.
I miss you Dexter, everything reminds me of you, and who’s going to wake me up in the mornings when I’m late for school. I love you my little furball, I can’t wait to see you again. It will go so quickly, we’ll go play catch soon.

I hope you read this story and I know it will not mean a lot to any of you, but it means a lot to me. Thank you for reading.

R.I.P. Dexter Horizon Toll Bubbles Horton

20131215_140559

Leave a Reply

